Do shields actual work

• hi guys yes im a noob thought be ace holding a shield but I always seemed to get killed with shield up what am I doing wrong :(

• Yes they do work. It takes a while to get used to them though, as the hitboxes are not accurate and occasionally you will see weapons stabbing or swinging through shields.

• You still have to aim your blocks with a shield.

Especially when someone knows how to stab/get around the shield.

• I know how frustrating this can be.
    The closer your opponent comes, the better you will have to aim your shield-block.
    Also, when you see a stab coming in, always aim a little more to the left.

• @smokingbobs:

when you see a stab coming in, always aim a little more to the left.

Shh! Don’t tell people about the stab-hole! You don’t tell girls about the hole in the bathroom and you don’t tell new players about the hole in their shield. :x
    “Are you drunk?” :D

• Keep in mind that if you hold your shield up most of the time, someone will just give you a kick which ends up stunning you long enough for a free hit with almost any weapon. (which is kind of dumb if you ask me but oh well)

So only bring up your shield when you know an attack is coming towards you…. aim the shield at the weapon coming at you, not the enemy holding the weapon.

Try crouching while blocking with a shield and aiming at the weapon, this lowers your profile and allows you to block more area of your body… but be quick about the action because if you crouch and block too soon, the enemy will see what you’re doing and kick you or flank you with another attack… and once that hit is blocked, stand back up and get ready to attack them back as soon as possible.