Useless weapons?

• Before I get to the meat of the question, I’d like to say at this point that I am not an expert player. I’m pretty good, and tend to do very well in TO maps in particular, but I’m not a master at this game. So don’t take this as an attempt to school noobs in how this game works. I’m also not a particularly tactical player when it comes to weapons, it’s much more of a feel thing for me. I’m not trying to start a flame war or complain about a broken game, this is just something that I’m genuinely interested in. Here we go.

So I’ve been thinking: how many weapons are there in this game that are pointless?

I don’t necessarily mean that they are flat out bad, just pointless in the sense that there is another weapon available that does the exact same job, but possibly better. For example, there is no reason why you would pick the double axe over the maul, grand mace, or even poleaxe. See what I mean? The polehammer is another weapon that I’m confused about. To my understanding, the point of it is to be an anti-knight weapon, because it can two-shot knights. But if you want to two-shot knights, what exactly is wrong with the bardiche? Isn’t the bardiche just as fast and longer than the poleaxe?

The reason why I started thinking about this is because in all honesty, I think there might be too many weapons in the game. It’s like TB drew up a huge list of weapons, and then thought “right, we have to think up unique stats for all of these”. Because if they aren’t all different, then what is the point of having so many weapons? I’m not saying that this is some kind of massive, game-breaking flaw, far from it. I just keep thinking that because of the bewildering array of weapons, we end up with some weapons with stats that don’t really make any sense, again the double axe being the clearest example.