I'd like to get some feedback on my Chivalry map plans!

• Hi everyone,

Wanted to share with you my plans for a map I will be creating for Chivalry.

Click the links below the images for full sized pictures!

So over the past week or so I’ve been dreaming up my next project. Lately I’ve been playing a fair amount of Chivalry: Medieval Warfare with my friends and we’ve been having a blast. Not long after I started playing Torn Banner announced they were going to release the SDK in the future, which coupled with my love for the game, spurred me on to design a map for it.

Chivalry runs on the Unreal engine, which was why I mentioned I was getting to grips again with the UDK in my last blog post, and I’ve learnt quite a lot of useful things about the UDK since picking it back up. Before I make my map I shall be carrying out a few tests to ensure I fully understand everything I need to know to complete the map.

The tests will include making materials, such as stained glass, and new gameplay objects unique to my map such as rocks being dropped from the walls instead of pots of burning oil found in the official maps. More to come on the progress of these in the future!

Now, below you will find a basic top down plan for the map I wish to create:

http://i.imgur.com/0fILtig.jpg

The map is set in the countryside on some rolling plains in the middle of summer. Nearby there will be a large lake and off into the distance there will be mountains visible. Players will start near a large hill with a castle keep built on the plateau. At the bottom of the hill there is a small town within the castle walls.

Below I have broken down each area with a couple of paragraphs explaining the game play found there along with some images to give a sense of the mood/feel I am going for with each area.

Area 1

http://i.imgur.com/DXCE9vV.jpg