[KNIGHT] Shield Knight

• I’m currently have issues dealing with MAA’s with the longsword kite shield knight, Like they’ll thrust I’ll block they’ll dodge back and then come in with another thrust as I’m on riposte, Their attacks always connect my alt thrust connects sometimes but not always, Then they’ll move in and try to look for areas where I’m open. It’s getting pretty frustrating because if I attempt what I think is a feint thrust they’ll follow with a kick I’ll be dazed and then they’ll rinse and repeat till I’m dead.

Not sure what to do, Any tips would be kind I’m only new to the Shield knight, I like the lure of this class because you’re using mainly footwork.

• Don’t use the shield until Torn Banner fixed it. Right now it only blocks your vision, makes your stamina disappear and gets you stunned.

(1) Chase him around. Make him dodge/miss/parry as often as possible and do not let him time to catch his breath. Avoid losing a lot of stamina yourself. Wait for him to become exhausted, stun him and hit him. Repeat. (The strangling way.)

(2) Try to trick him into closing in by comboing and feinting. Sometimes a fake “panic” parry will do the job or just idling a little bit longer. Some MaA are prone to side dodges - use slash for this. If everything goes right he will run into your attack. (The deceptive way.)

(3) Get close, closer! Do not leave him any personal space. He will most likely try to get some distance between you. If he is cornered (or actually enjoys hugging distance) attack him, if he panics feint and then attack. (The bullying way.)

• Sadly; Evil Minion has a very valid point, shields have been progressively nerfed to shit. However, I’ve played 850 hours+ as a shield knight and I’m currently doing reasonably well against MAA by using the Norse sword. For starters alt slash - overhead/stab combo is surprisingly effective; they generally don’t expect such a fast weapon.