Spartan Hoplite

• I think the spartan model is really lacking in detail compared to the other classes. It seems bland and unrealistic considering the spartan isn’t even wearing a shirt under that bronze armor. I am not an expert on the Greek hoplite but it would be nice to see a more layered version of the spartan model with the leather skirt or the alternative linothorax armor. I’m not saying the current model should be removed but the choice to wear the suggested additional pieces of armor would be ideal.

Some pics

• Pfft haven’t you seen 300. Its a perfectly historically accurate film of Spartans in 400BC.

• I agree, the Spartan is lacking in detail and textures.

• @lemonater47:

Pfft haven’t you seen 300. Its a perfectly historically accurate film of Spartans in 400BC.

I know right. If you didn’t know better, you’d think they had a camera-man back there in 400BC rather than it being a movie.

• @lemonater47:

Pfft haven’t you seen 300. Its a perfectly historically accurate film of Spartans in 400BC.

I really haven’t, but I do want to watch it after playing the spartan.

• In all seriousness a linothorax would be a good edition. And a sort of tunic that is slung over one shoulder would be cool too.

I think savage beatings made a thread about this too.

The textures do need to improve on his little skirt though. It just doesn’t look textured very much. Needs to look more like cloth fabric instead of smooth silk.

• He says that the organisation was based on an average row of 8 man deep. Four of these rows formed an enomotia or platoon; four enomotiai formed on their turn a pentekostis or company which was commanded by a pentekonter; four pentekosteis formed a lochos or battalion under the leadership of a lochagos. The average army had about seven of these lochois.

• @lemonater47:

I think savage beatings made a thread about this too.

Yes, in the Alpha Testers Only fourm, I posted the following mock-ups some time ago.