Why does blocking sometimes not work?

• Hey everyone,

I am new to the game but a mount and blade player and played all day yesterday. I really enjoyed it, the game is pure awesome and I love it.

On thing though that concerned me is that sometimes blocking (even with the shield) does not work. It’s not very often and I could not tell why it happens when it happens. I only used the big huge knight shield because with the smaller shields I figured out that you give the enemy quite some bodyparts left to strike at. This happened with many enemy weapons while I really stood in front of the enemy and held the shield up (at least the animation showed me that my shield was up) - and still I got hit and killed.

Why could that be? Are there some unblockable attacks? Are some weapons unblockable?

• Wish I knew. As far as I can tell, alot of clipping goes on.

• I think it only takes a tiny second of lag to screw up the timings of stuff like this.

• Developer

The thing with our blocking system is that you have to look in the direction of the attack, it is possible to get around shields. Sometimes when you just barely manage to get around the shield it can look like it goes through it a little bit, that’s most likely what you’re experiencing.

• Hm, that could be. But in many of these cases I am pretty sure I faced my opponent directly. The thing is, that every time I die that way it is very frustrating because I feel that I did everything right and still die. If there is any way to prevent these strange deaths it would remove the anger and outrage I always feel when it happens 8-)

• Also I’ve noticed what might/might not be an actual issue with the shields.

For instance:

1. Someone is about to hit you
    2. Holding right mouse button to raise the shield
    3. Too late, you get hit! still holding RMB
    4. Incoming backswing