My thoughts after a year break and requesting some expert player opinions

• I’m quite torn(lol) at the moment and I would really appreciate it if the real Chiv experts could help me. But first…

My opinion of the current state of Chiv as a returning player

When I started playing Chiv at release, it had some bugs and I really enjoyed it. I played up until lvl 31 before I left around the time of the new helms being released.

I always watched the forums and saw a lot of moaning about different issues, most specifically people saying there were ghost swings and not being able to parry, but I personally never had any problems. I’ve seen patches come and go but not played in a long time, when I started playing again a few days ago the game feels very different, maybe less fluid, but what I notice now is a huge amount of ghost swings and other oddities which I never experienced on release. Is this the same for everyone? Has Chiv taken a step backwards in detecting hits properly? The most glaring example was yesterday when an archer slashed at me, I immediately parried successfully and there was a visual and auditory indication that i’ve parried. Then half a second later I fall to the floor dead and even my opponent said he had no idea how he had killed me as I parried the attack. These are things I never experienced. This is not a moaning thread, just a question thread.

1) First Request - What the patch changes mean in terms of gameplay