Are shields overpowered?

• Sorry, I’m new to the game. I love it! My only gameplay complaints are that as a Samurai, I can’t dual wield the Katana/Wakizashi and shields just seem so overpowered. I go on dueling servers a lot and everytime it gets dominated by Spartans, Vikings, and Knights with the mace.

It seems like there is just no possible way to beat them unless the player is really bad. Any tips on what to do here? Am I just doing something wrong?

• ways to beat shield

1. If you have thumb buttons on your mouse or hold down alt, your swings will come from the other side. This means a side swing will swing from the left instead of the right. Since shield are held on the right most beginners with shields won’t look at the weapon and the swing will hit them, follow up with a stab since it is fast. Note: this doesn’t work on experienced players since they will look at the weapon.

2. Ripostes. If you attack immediately after you parry someone your attack will come out a lot faster than usual. Shields usually can’t raise their shields fast enough so this can be a free hit. Note: Ripostes can’t be done when you are using a shield

3. Flinching. If you attack them during their windup of their attack then they won’t be able to finish their attack. Since they are attacking they won’t be blocking either, opening them up for attack. You should probably do this with a faster weapon. Note: if you do this too late in the attack motion the attack will continue, most likely hitting you. This is risky if done wrong.

4. kick them, it works sometimes.

• It can be really hard to kick so shields are a lot better in DW. As stated above, those are probably your best chances against them. But the Spartan shields are by far the worst.

• The Viking shield is the worst offender in my experience. The fuckin thing blatantly blocks side and back attacks sometimes, plus it can be thrown at people’s heads for massive damage.

• It always feels great to parry a projectile though.