120fps

• To start off, I’m not a super pro player, so the answers might lay there.

I’ve seen people say under 120fps is “garbage”, or similar. This confuses the hell out of me. I simply don’t understand why people seem to think this. 120+fps can be seriously hard to maintain for any engine, even something like UE3 which over 7 years old. It’s not that it can’t reach 120, or maintain it for long periods, it’s that to maintain gameplay, fidelity, AI, similar overheads, AND never drop under 120fps requires serious gear, and serious optimisation (something we know Civ lacks).

Unlocked framerate tends to jump around a lot. Sometimes it’ll be ~120, other it’ll drop down to ~80 or even ~60 if you have a lot of AI scripting kicking in, or some serious rendering going on. This jittering framerate is highly noticeable, and I suspect some complaints about low FPS are linked to this. Ever been playing at 60fps, then suddenly have it drop to 40 and head back up? You really notice it. It’s the same thing, the numbers are irrelevant in that situation. You are more likely to notice the change, than the inherent difference.

This is why fps is often locked. It’s to maintain consistency, to make sure that the frames don’t jump around too much and become noticeable. For most players, for most games 60+ is satisfactory; a minimum most devs shoot for, and hence why lots of engines are default capped to it. If you are finding the game difficult to play with it uncapped, try re-capping it to 60. It may feel smoother and play better. You’ll lose the unpredictability jumping fps causes.

So, can someone explain to me why people care so much about 120fps? I’m not wanting an argument, or calling anyone out, or making fun of people. I just keep seeing people saying the game is unplayable under 120fps, which makes no sense to me. The answer could be as simple as “bigger numbers make me feel better”, or it could be pro player “we need it for dodging and fainting etc”.