Where's all the great mods?

• Seriously, am I missing something? This game has been moddable long enough, I was hoping for some decent mods by now. There doesn’t seem to be anything except mana warfare, some thing with giants, and the black knight mod, none of which I’ve seen a server for. Since I started playing again recently I haven’t even seen any servers hosting any new custom maps, just the same old stock maps.

Is there another website that has any mods for this game yet that I’ve totally missed or something? Or is there something about modding the game that just isn’t that easy/great yet for some reason? Wheres the mods?

I was really hoping what happened to Mount & Blade: Warband would happen to this game. This game is begging to be turned into massive castle siege warfare, line battles of roman soldiers, hordes of samurai clashing on tree covered hills (don’t get me started on deadliest warrior. I know it has samurai and spartans, but I DO NOT want to play with both, and pirates, running around together).

• There are the official contest servers, which have a constant rotation of custom maps at the moment :) As well as servers hosted by individuals. We have our custom map “Seaborn” on a constant rotation, and Yarnu has a server where he is kind enough to play many of the contest entries in a constant rotation.

As for Modifications, I think this contest is likely to kickstart new life into the community, and I know that the team I worked with on Seaborn are interested in creating something a little more unusual in the future.

• Mods generally require knowledge of UScript, and finding ~free~ information about it anywhere is getting much more difficult/rare. The documentation on it is mostly explanatory of how the script system and actor classes work. It’s a lot like Java really but learning the syntax takes a bit more than a few “this is what uscript looks like” tutorials for those who are not programming inclined.