Chiv Server (VPS) hardware specs?

• Hi,

I was looking for some data on Chiv server hosting as I’m planning to hire a hosting service and I thought of a VPS kind of server because I’m a cheap fuck :worked_till_5am:

I’ve already found some answers (like these threads 1) to all the related questions but I wanted some further info to know what I should be getting.

• Server RAM? I read somewhere it was 200-300 mb dedicated for the Chiv, but is this accurate? Would 512 MB of RAM be enough?

• Tick rate? Some high tick 32/64 slot servers, seem to have over 200 tick rate. Would 128 work for me?
      [Btw, the datacenter also runs another Chiv server with 28/28 slots, and the server is set with a default tickrate of 30. Even though the response time is pretty low -through showdebug- it kinda lags]

• Is Windows absolutely necessary? I have very little networking experience and nil Linux skills so I’m not sure I could rune something on WINE that easily.

• Any additional specs regarding CPU would be great.

The server will be located in South America, btw.

• Chiv doesn’t give a shit about multiple cores. It gets off on high clock speed. So hunt for that.
    Especially with higher tickrate, it’s all about the core clock speed.
    RAM is indeed around 150-250 for a server.

I think there’s a WINE tutorial on this forum somewhere, but UDK itself is made for Windows only. Hence WINE is needed.

• Thanks for the info, Raizio.

I finally got a hosting and these are its specs, according to the launch log:
    [0000.18] Init: CPU Page size=4096, Processors=8
    [0000.18] Init: High frequency timer resolution =3.410273 MHz
    [0000.18] Init: Memory total: Physical=23.9GB (24GB approx) Pagefile=71.8GB Virtual=4.0GB

I’ve been testing it out and so far it’s great, except for the TC Admin script they have in place which prevents me from launching custom configs (subconfigdir param) and custom content (sdkfile info).