[WIP] Fauchard-Fork - Billhook skin

• Good day to y’all.

I’m a complete noob with 3D modelling, having only made a few weird swords in Blender in the past. So why not try and and make something for Chivalry? I have zero knowledge in texturing, so you get a good ol’ clay model instead. I am also not that good at placing the lighting either, hehe.

It’s based on this picture:

I will gladly recieve feedback so I can make a version 2 because I know there’s a lot of things I probably need to change on this one. Also, if anyone would like to texture it… give a shout :) If it turns out alright and it’s submitted to the contest, we’ll split revenue if it wins!

• You’ve captured the shape well, good job!
    You should post up the wireframe, with the number of poly’s too.
    Even if you don’t know how to texture, it is worth learning how to construct a UVW map as well, to prepare the model for the texturing process.

Just one caveat about the choice of model - while the shape lends itself to be a billhook replacement, the spike of the fauchard is far below the head of the weapon, which means when you go to use the stab attack, you’ll get this area of tracer that extends beyond the model, because the head curves away from the spike and the spike is not long enough to extend with the billhook tracers. It’ll look like you’re stabbing someone with an invisible piece of the weapon.

• Thanks! I did a little trick called “Upload a photo in Blender and make a model over it” ;)

Changed the model so it’s more stab-friendly:

Fauchard-Forks can also look like this:

Or this:

But the image I began modelling after was the one I liked the look of the most. Anyways, I’m gonna go with this more stab-friendly fauchard instead!

I know I will have to learn everything else there is about modelling eventually, texturing and mapping and all those fancy words :P I will look into it. Meanwhile, the model currently sits at 1700 tris and here is a wireframe: