Terrible looking combat

• Hello!

I’m a complete noob in Chivalry series and I’m constantly get killed by retarded combos like
    360 degree horisontal overheads
    180 degree swings
    strange stabs of hammers that take 30% hp
    vertical strikes where ppl look upwards.

Dudes, WTF has happened to the combat system? those moves look terrible and have nothing to do with real swordfights. IRL any of those retarded moves would mean a fast stab in lungs, belly or hip with an instant lethal outcome.
    DW has no such disgusting features, but also has no balance: those shield bashes, instakill spears and annoying pirates. So it’s kinda unplayable too.

As a huge fan swordfights I fing all the series of Chivalry vastly inferior to Movie Battles project, but it’s too outdated and depopulated ATM…

• Just a side effect of the real time swing system. People are good enough at this game to not get hit ever by normal swings now. That leaves feints and dragging. Dragging is easier to deal with than feints, but looks more stupid when taken to the extreme. This is the game I’m afraid, it’s quite old now, and if you think they’re gonna dump real time swings you’ll be in for a disappointment. There are melee games with more realistic combat, but none of them are as fun.

• its a game, not supposed to mimic real life medieval combat

• IRL complaining about how somebody killed you doesn’t actually happen.

• It’s a videogame. It never claimed to be realistic nor does it try to be.

• But….but it’s so much fun :/

• have you never seen star wars?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?! completely realistic

• @Rekrab:

have you never seen star wars?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?! completely realistic

Star Wars: Jedi Academy is almost 12-years old now, but even now vanilla combat looks (I mean LOOKS, not plays) better. 3 years ago I was on par with the best saberists in Movie Battles 2 add-on, and even now the combat system feels more refined and balanced. And, to be honest, even looks better (despite poor animation):