Class balance vs Player skill

• This is a big topic, and far too often overlooked by people.

In general, I feel the balance of the game is in a very good state. Sure, there are a few tweaks I would like to see here or there, but overall its good. I know a lot of people would read to this point and think “but ____ is OP!”

What people are really complaining about is the skill of the player, and not so much the class balance. I could go on for some time about the balance of the classes, how archers aren’t that strong on paper (save for javs), how maa can get 1 shot by knights while needing to land 3-5 hits to win, but what I wanted to bring to attention was player skill, and how people tend to blame the class instead of compliment the opponents skills.

When I started playing Maa I remember saying “how can anyone be good at this class?” because I was horrible, but I kept at it. Eventually, I got really damn good at killing people. Running into a group of 3 knights and winning, even though 1-2 hits would kill me, where as for the group of them I had to land 11 hits total. I know I’ve been the reason someone has typed “maa is broken/op” but I’m also aware that its because I’ve put in the time and practice to get that good with them. Oddly enough, I don’t recall seeing a “vanguard is OP” when I’ve lead a map cycle being 34/11/18 and had the top score.