How to fix archer balance… really.

• Just to start of some background. (Impatient “archer is cancer” folk, TLDR; at the end)

I have played Chivalry since the launch, and Age of Chivalry before that for a long time.
    I started playing competitively on Chivalry pretty soon after the game came out, played in one of the best teams EU until a year hiatus, and now again doing the same. My main class is archer.

Now before you get all retarded about “cancer trying to lecture you” on game balance, I’d like to say that since the launch there has been 2 major changes to archer gameplay. The second ofc was the recent “Archer nerf”, and the first most of you might not even remember or know about, was an “Archer buff”.

Alot of people who play archer and many who don’t, but are involved in competitive chiv. Viewed the “nerf” a bad thing. Me myself however, I understand and still continue to play archer in competitive clanmatches.

What people whining about not enough “nerfing” should realize, that the game was much better balanced before the first change… back then the archer class was “underpowered”, hence why they made the “buff”.

I’m going to run down some of the more meaningful pros and cons from launch before and after these major changes.
    Please bare in mind that in AoC my favorite class was knight, and I started playing archer in competitive mainly because of my accumulated experience on sniping from other games with ballistic projectiles.

Launch:

• Archer: +50% melee backstab damage
    • Archer: Arrow Flinch
    • Archer: Slow arrow flight speed
      Reversed for melee players.
      Damage pretty much the same as now(except broadhead 1 shot archers in chest)

At this time it was an actually meaningful decision on wether to use Shortbow vs. Warbow for example.