Parrying big weapons with small weapons

• Think about it, a crazed berserker with a massive claymore is charging in shouting “FREEEDOOOM!!!”, swings his huge heavy piece of metal toward an archer……who then completely blocks the attack with a tiny goddamn dagger with zero effort.

Is it just me or is the above scenario kinda ridiculous? Now I’m not saying 1-handers shouldn’t be able to block 2-handers at all because yea i get it, balance and stuff, but COME ON. At least make it so you feel a difference between blocking a hit from a 2-handed maul and blocking a hit from a dagger. The guy who blocks should at least be thrown back a bit, and/or lose more stamina depending on the weight of the weapon that hits him. Dunno, I’m far from an expert when it comes to game design and balancing, i just feel that something should be changed, what do you guys think?

• Yeah uhm. Everyone would play knight/vanguard due to the fact that they can ignore small one handed weapons block.

• @MinorityMats:

Yeah uhm. Everyone would play knight/vanguard due to the fact that they can ignore small one handed weapons block.

Did I say they should “ignore” the block? I believe i wrote quite the opposite, they shouldn’t ignore it. But hey if a weapon swings slower and heavier, it’s only logical it should take longer to recover from getting hit by it, don’t you think? Also Maa’s can dodge and/or use a shield and archers are supposed to get their ass handed to them in melee so what’s the problem?

• This is interesting, as I sometimes play archer and this happens.
    Is it “harder” to parry with smaller weapons? If not I think it should be against the very large weapons, especially the maul.

But remember, it is not a “block” persay. It is a parry. Although I admit it is strange parrying a maul with a dagger.

• @Mashuu:

This is interesting, as I sometimes play archer and this happens.