MaA Risk vs Reward

• So, I’m very new to the game. Played a bit with all the classes, MaA the most. What I’m about to type here are questions, not fully formed opinions - I’m just looking for feedback and tips. These are my first impressions, I’m not QQing about OPness, crying that anything is UP, etc…

That being said, I’m having trouble working out the risk vs reward for MaA. It seems like all weapons have the same stamina cost to swing/block, so the only modifiers are reach, power and speed. The MaA weapons tend to be quicker, with shorter reach and lower damage than Knight or Vanguard. This leads to a situation where I have to land 3-6 strikes (depending on weapon and hit location), whereas they can kill me in 1 to 2. Dodge is certainly a mitigating factor, but seeing as how I have to be extremely close for my weapons to function, dodging fails against side cuts with nearly any decent reach weapon (IE, anything Vanguard is rolling with, and most knight loadouts). Knights and VA’s have to screw up 3-6 times for me to kill them, 1 or 2 mistakes can cost me my life. This makes kicking a big gambit, because if I miss I might just get 1 shotted.

I guess my question is, why does the class with the lowest armor and shortest reach weapons also have such middling damage? I’m taking the bigger risk, shouldn’t my rewards be bigger?

What can I do to better deal with vanguards/Knights?

• Have you not used the Dan Axe?

• Norse sword can 2 hit stab MaA Vanguard’s and Archers. It 3 hit stabs Knights. Combine that with a shield and dodge and you are an archers worst nightmare.