Modeling in maya help

• So im working on a model in maya to put into UDK to potentially put into a mod (its a stretch, i know)

I need to know how to make good looking realistic rope to coil around the handle of a torch.

Im really new to maya (like, REALLY new) and dont know much about it and the tutorials i’ve seen are way above me.

Any help appreciated :D

Edit, picture of work… its actually my first piece of work in Maya, I really have no experience in modeling programs like this but did some building in Second Life which I think is helping.

• i dont have any experience in maya, but you could either fake the rope by applying a rope texture to the handle of the torch or just take a cylinder and extrude and twist that around the handle. ive only ever used 3ds max so im not sure how close maya is to it. In max there is also a modifier that lets a shape extrude along a spline, dont know if maya has something similar or not.

• Never used maya, but you could texture the torch, and texture a rope around, with a bump map. I think thats how it is usually made

• There is a way to extrude along a curve in Maya. You simply use the basic extrude command, but have a curve selected aswell. After the extrusion you need to add enough divisions to make it smooth enough. This is a very usefull feature, but I would also recomend using texturing in this case.