Improve terrain collision handling or 'fix invisible walls'

• Hi guys,

First off all: i love this game. I’m a critical and demanding veteran warband / crpg player and even though the combat in this somewhat slow and sluggish, i find myself enjoying chivalry immensely. The visceral and bloody combat and especially the way the game handles the impact from blows on the player models is superb. So kudos for a great game!

So here is my suggestion:
    It’s probably been said before, but i feel that chivalry is especially bad when the player model collides with some static object like a wall, a cart or a too-steep-to-walk-on slope. You just instantly come to a halt, often in mid-walking animation.

This is highly frustrating. The game feels smooth overall, but when running along a wall and ‘scraping’ it with a shoulder, instead of being slowed down gently or bouncing off the wall a little bit… the game only has one way to handle that. You freeze. You come to a complete and instant halt.

Is it possible to tweak or optimize the way the game handles those kind of collisions?

Maybe instead of freezing / coming to an instant and complete halt, the game could let you ‘bounce off’ or at least gradually decrease speed instead of halting instantly.

I realize the game uses the unreal engine and you are probably limited by the way that engine handles player collision, but please, if there is some way to improve that aspect of the game i’d be chuffed to bits if you would look into that.

Thanks!