A Small Wishlist of Tweaks

• To be honest, as an aspiring game developer myself, I love seeing games like this coming out of indie developers. However, as I play, I can’t help but feel that a few things need to be done to make this game perfect.

1. Polearms should be completely ineffective when the gap has been closed.

This is something that really needs to be added as an element of realism and to force a little more strategy into the Vanguard class. The fact that a polearm still does it’s full damage when someone is past the striking head and essentially is hugging the person is a bit unrealistic and still encourages Vanguards to keep using their polearm in close quarters. The idea of a polearm was to keep people at range, but considering that the damage is the same, regardless of how far or close the person is to you. In reality, a person with a polearm against another opponent would probably favor a backup weapon in he has to fight alone, and favor the polearm when fighting in a group.

My suggestion is to add a deadzone, where the weapon swing of a pole arm will do no damage if the enemy is close enough to you that a swing would cause the striking portion of the weapon to swing past them. The animation to let you know this should be a deflected attack, like a parry, as hitting an armored enemy with the shaft of a weapon won’t really hurt them. This won’t, however, cause any stamina drain. It’s still technically a connected attack, just a very ineffective one.

Another idea, if this is implemented, is to offer a sort of “choke up” to viable twohanded weapons, like the Zweihander (That’s what that little leather strap past the hilt on the blade was for), spear, brandistock, fork, bardiche, halberd, and the like. Decreases range significantly, decreases damage slightly, but removes that deadzone.

2. Change stamina costs for weapons based on the weapons heft.