Re: The basics of realistic medieval combat

• First of all, I normally don’t post on forums and stick to reading only, but I could not pass on this post.
    I saw this game in the finals of IGotY and really loved the concept/implementation.

So I registered just to counter this ridiculous statement. It seems quite educated on the first glance, but obviously for a person that studies the subjects covered it is complete nonsense. The educated tone only adds to the damage because it makes the impact greater.
    I do not claim to understand a great deal about all of the weapons/principles touched in this post. However I feel obliged to share my knowledge. I am a student of HEMA(Historical European Martial Arts) for more than a year now, specializing in the study of the longsword(in the Liechtenauer tradition). Thus I have a firm connection with the subject.

I do not have the time nor the knowledge needed to discuss all of the inaccuracies, however I will touch the most obvious issues.
    First the most striking example - the statement that fighting techniques of 1 weapon are superior to another.
    A weapon of war was an instrument that the life of the man wielding it depended on. Furthermore, if he was a professional he studied it for many years. Now, if that weapon was known as being inferior to others, why would he use it?
    Every weapon serves its very specific purpose, and can only be judged in its historical context. A sword wielding man will win in an encounter with a similarly skilled in the use of his own weapon knife fighter. But his sword will be useless versus a man with a polearm.
    Furthermore - even the same weapons can provide an advantage or a disadvantage in different situations.