MAA in training

• So I’ve been playing the game for about a week now and my favourite class is the MAA. As I’m relatively new to the game I was wondering people would like to share some tips with me.

Typically when I fight against other MAA they ruin me by getting in close and unleashing a brutal combo. My problem is I have trouble getting in close. One tactic I noticed is a dodge forward followed by a stab to open the combo, but when I do that it seems like the thrust is too slow after the dodge resulting in a block counter against me. The spear is by far the weapon I have the most trouble against.

Another problem I have is picking my battles on team games. I try to hang back a bit and look for openings but still get pounded. Obviously I try to find 1vs1 battles as being out numbered doesn’t work well with the MAA, at least not for me. I’ve been playing on duel servers a lot and do fairly well there but team or ffa is another story.

Lastly, I have a private server running so if someone were willing to help train me I can give you access to it. Thanks in advance!

• Well, the spear and other long weapons are simply overpowered. They can swing all they like, and even if you evade a swing and then dart in to hit them (the technique you would use IRL), their return swing is not only still coming (which it shouldn’t), it’s also doing full damage even though it’s not the blade hitting you that close in.

A shield helps blocking those weapons, but as they recover too fast AND are not affecting fatigue enough, an experienced knight or vanguard will probably win against an experienced MaA most of the time.

That said, one technique that is usually successful for me is when you see them do an overhead swing, use the dodge ability and immediately follow up with a counter attack.

• As an MAA keep to the right of 2 handers as that’ll give you extra time to work with when theyre facing you.