New Player w/ Mechanics Questions

• Hello folks! I’m new to Chivalry and think the game is a blast to play. However, the longer I play, the more frustrated I become as I have no clear way of understanding what is happening in the game. Hopefully, I can get some answers!

Question 1: I am sometimes unable to take any action after being hit and end up being comboed to death. Is this because this is simply possible with the right weapons and technique, or, is it because the game does not have an input buffer and I am attempting to block too soon, causing the block input to never be recoginized?

Question 2: If I block/parry my opponent’s weapon, how do I know when and if I can counter attack them? Is there some kind of bonus factor for blocking multiple times in a row to my benefit or my opponent’s disadvantage?

Question 3: Are weapon speeds factored into blocking/parrying? If I am using the fastest weapon and my opponent is using the slowest weapon, is my opponent stunned for shorter or is it just incapacitating him at a rate based on his weapon or is it just a flat number regardless of weapons used?

Question 4: What am I expected to do if i’m using a slow weapon (Maul) against an opponent with a faster weapon who’s in my face? My swing is too slow; should I be trying to block? What is the counterplay here?

Question 5: Sometimes an attack pushes me away, sometimes they don’t. Why?

Question 6: I can’t seem to combo a poke. Is it me or is it not supported or is there no animation for certain weapon pokes? Or is there no input buffer, making the window to do it successfully very hard with certain weapons?

Question 7: At the highest skill level, do players use first or third person? I find third person to be incredibly satisfying as I can better gauge the distance of my swings and see enemies at my sides… but i’d rather not practice with a sub-optimal option.