Thoughts on the game after a bit of time

• Hello everybody! I’m new to these forums but I’ve gotten really active on other forums that I’ve started, so I assume the same will happen here.

I am really enjoying Chivalry, and definitely am glad I got it over War of the Roses. Everything is solid, except for a couple of things that really hurt the gameplay experience. I am a newb here, yes, but I’ve got a friend who has put nearly 200 hours into the game and who is very good (always wins duel rounds, and is very good in general) but shares my same frustrations.

I’ve had the pleasure of playtesting a lot of games, so I’ve done a lot balance suggestions, and the like, and so I really like to get involved in getting things balanced across the board. Here are two issues that really hurt my enjoyment of the game:

1. Lag. Horrendous lag. I get a ping of 50 or less on almost all other games, but in Chivalry a good server averages around 100. This is a big issue because timing is so important in this game; any bit of lag absolutely ruins your fighting chance. It is very sporadic but happens a lot more in bigger servers….the other day I had no less than ten arrows clip through my foes, my crossbow would get stuck up and would not come down for anything, nor could I reload, and one round I couldn’t parry at all. It just wouldn’t do anything. My friends and I tried 4 or 5 servers one night before quitting in frustration because they all lagged out to the point we couldn’t have fun because we were getting irritated that our attacks/parries weren’t working.