[MECH] How Do I Footwork?

• As an fps slasher, it’s no wonder mechanics like feinting, combos, parrying, blocking, etc are all so frequently discussed. It’s a combat based game, so let’s talk about combat skills. However, I feel like a massive element, at least for any skilled player, is left out though – footwork and movement. Sprinting, jumping, ducking, dodging, or simply just walking. I’m relatively new to the game, but have focused a lot on the competitive aspect on the game so I know the basics. I’m also speaking from pretty much a 1v1/dueling perspective. The point of this thread is to state some tactics I know, but also hopefully gain input from more experienced players.

Sprinting:
    Normally this is just used for getting from point A to point B quicker, or closing in on a fight to steal the kill. Sprinting is a crucial part of combat though. I play pretty much only MaA, so I focus more on dodging instead of sprinting. But I duel a lot, and utilizing this mechanic is what seems to separate the bad knights/vans from the good. My understanding is that you sprint to close the gap, since most classes don’t have dodge. If you’re attacking, you should most likely be sprinting. Hopefully a better knight/van can elaborate on this a bit.

Jumping:
    Seems straightforward enough from what I’ve seen: you jump and stab/overhead downwards to get over blocks. I’ve done it a few time successfully but jumping seems kind of clunky. Other than that I don’t use it much, but apparently you can jump over slash swings? Never seen/tried it.

Ducking:
    A really fun thing when you pull it off. Looks sick too. If you crouch you can duck under swings, if you do it correctly. I didn’t believe it at first but after trying it a few times I pulled it off. It can be very unexpected and clutch. Don’t know much about this, so if a pro ducker could add some input that’d be cool. Do you look in any particular direction when ducking?

Dodging: