Long Sword VS Sword of War

• I am a level 23 who mostly plays knight, and when I play knight I only use the Sword of War. In 1v1’s, I can go 10 kills 1 death, but I don’t know which sword is better. I never played with the longsword much, but I wonder, what weapon do you prefer?

• I’m just a newbie but I’m liking the Sword of War. I haven’t done any dueling though, but in battles I find that using it with the kite shield is a great combo as it has that small speed advantage.

• This is a really really tricky one because I think both weapons are very well balanced in terms of providing for different playstyles. Personally, I prefer the Sword of War, but a couple of other 2H users in our clan prefer the Longsword.

Ask yourself this question - do you rely on slashes/overheads more, or stabs more? If the former, then the Longsword is for you, if the latter, then the Sword of War is for you. The Longsword does more damage with overheads (reliably 2-hit overheading Vanguards) whereas the Sword of War has a faster and more damaging stab. The Longsword gained more popularity with the look down overheads though.

• Balance discussions go in the Balance forum guys, that’s why it’s there!

• As bob said this should probably be in the balance forum. As far as discussion goes I believe the Sword of War is a bit better simply because it combos faster and its stab does a lot more damage than the longsword.

• I personally like swords as my fast primary so I tend to prefer the Sword of War and Claymore.

• Out of curiosity, does anyone else find that opponents have trouble blocking Sword of War stabs? I keep seeing people mistiming their parries or letting me get around their shields with alarming frequency when I stab with it.

• I prefer longsword simply because of the extra range.
    It would be nice if that cvar thing was fixed to allow accurate testing of ranges on weapon attacks so we could compare all the stats.

• @DemonicChocobo: