Torn Banner, Here are my criticisms.

• Some praise to start off:

Chivalry still is the only game I’ve ever played with a decent and challenging melee system and I will continue to play it. Your little indie startup somehow managed to come up with ideas that the industry giants have been failing to produce for decades. I think it’s fantastic that you’re releasing content updates for free for a game that isn’t even full price and has been on sale for half of its lifetime in the age of selling “DLC” (formerly known as patches) 1 day after the game ships.

Now, the bad stuff:

I started playing in December. Everything was unpolished, the game was underperforming when my specs should be overkill for it and there were glitches all over the place. But that’s okay, it’s an indie game, that stuff would get fixed. Or would it?

It is now February, the new major patch was deployed and everything has gotten worse. You have not only failed to fix but actually somehow managed to exacerbate the core issues that have been plaguing this game for months:

• Optimization is TERRIBLE. I’m running an i5-2500k and an HD6950 with unlocked extra shaders. A game with the (lack of) visual quality that Chivalry has should be running (I don’t know what I was thinking, Chivalry is actually quite beautiful at max. I was probably already playing at low settings at that point.) With that hardware, Chivalry should run at a constant 60fps at max settings. In fact, I get frequent fps drops on most maps and constant low fps on some. Maps like Citadel and the new CTF version of Ruins aren’t even playable.

• Command queueing hasn’t been fixed. As an absolutely intolerable, game-breaking bug, it’s ruining the competitiveness of the game. I can’t think of any legitimate reason why you didn’t fix it several months ago.

• Hitting someone in the recovery phase does not stagger them. I don’t know if this is a bug or a bad design choice, but either way it’s pretty much beyond discussion that it’s terrible.